Craft Day: Stuck on You

Today is a beautiful day! I should be at the pool, but instead I’m in my house, posting on a blog. All I need now is a few more cats and I’d be the perfect cat lady.

Yesterday, John went and looked at our future apartment in Costa Rica–it’s lovely! We’d even have enough space to host any family or friends who would like to visit us. John sent me a video of the place and we talked about it for a while on Skype last night. I went to bed thinking about our future home together and woke up just the same.

Since we’ll be moving there and have limited luggage we can bring with us, a lot of the things on our wedding registry will remain in the states (insert *thumbs down*).  However, I’m in the mood to make some cutesy stuff for our home–with or without packing space. Therefore, any projects I make have to be small enough to bring with us. I already warned John that the letter “K” and our last name “Kane” will be everywhere. Anyways, on to my DIY SUPER EASY magnet project that will not take up much packing space. I got my little craft fix this morning.

Image

1. For this project you will need: Mod Podge, a brush to apply the Mod Podge (not pictured), scissors, 1″ hole puncher, glass vase fillers (about an 1″), magnets (I used the strips, but I think the circle magnets would work better), and a hot glue gun (not pictured).

2. Search the web or old magazines for random pictures you would like to turn into magnets. Some of the things I searched for were different logos (Doctor Who and Braves), found different book covers/quotes (The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Looking for Alaska, and The Fault in Our Stars), I downloaded a picture of John and I, and I looked in a magazine for letters to spell our last name. Just make sure you size the images in Word to where they will fit when you use the 1″ circle puncher.

3. To help me see the image I was punching out, I turned my puncher upside down. This helped me to center my image, too.

4. Put a thin layer of Mod Podge on the back of your glass stone. Apply your image. Push out any bubbles that may appear (more common when using magazine clippings).

5. Place your image on the glass, face down, then add another thin layer to the back of the image. When using prints from your computer, make sure not to move your image too much or the ink will smear. 

6. Clip your magnets to size (I guessed). I used the ones with the sticky side, but discovered they didn’t stay on. I ended up having to hot glue them on.

Enjoy your new, one of a kind magnets!
finished product

One thought on “Craft Day: Stuck on You

Leave a Reply

